Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip To Main Content

Clear Creek ISD Celebrates Partner and Volunteers of the Year

Clear Creek ISD Celebrates Partner and Volunteers of the Year

Clear Creek ISD announced the Clear Creek Education Foundation as the Community Partner of the Year at the 2023 Volunteer and Partnership Breakfast on May 5, 2023, at the Challenger Columbia Stadium Fieldhouse. Max Garcia of League City Elementary and Jennifer Leonard and Phong Do of Clear Springs High School were named Elementary and Secondary Volunteers of the Year, respectively.

CCISD’s Volunteer and Partnership Breakfast is an annual tradition in the District bringing community together to celebrate successes of the school year, due in large part to volunteers, organizations, businesses and industry who support and advocate for students and staff.

View the photo gallery of the 2023 Volunteer and Partnership Breakfast here.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Karen Engle shared a state of the district through the lens of student successes.

“There is an indisputable fact that comes along with most every student achievement in CCISD,” said Engle. “Our students could not excel like they do without a remarkable community in the wings.”

With the 2023 theme, “Student Success: Symphony of a Community,” as the event backdrop, guests were treated to performances by the League City Intermediate Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Sara Styskel, and Brookwood Elementary violinist Allison Yang, and Clear Falls High School Baritone Saxophonist River Jekel Chavez.

League City Elementary Principal Xan Wood and school counselor, Michelle Baltazar, made the surprise announcement that Max Garcia was named the 2023 Elementary Volunteer of the Year.

“Max is simply an integral member of the League City Elementary family,” said Wood. “As president of the PTA he helps us dream big at our school and makes big things happen.” Garcia is also instrumental in the growth and success of not only League City’s Watch D.O.G.S.® (Dads of Great Students) program but volunteers to assist other schools ramp up their program. Wood also made the surprise announcement that the new school mascot, which Garcia made happen and now dons the uniform of for school events, would be named “Max the Mustang” in his honor.

Jennifer Leonard and Phong Do were introduced as Secondary Volunteers of the Year by Megan Edlefsen, Clear Springs High School instructor for the Fashion Design class and Clear Springs High School student Emily Howard. The Volunteer of the Year duo have supported the HUNCH program (High school students United with NASA to Create Hardware) at Clear Springs through the Fashion 2 course and help instruct the class on the production of soft goods for spaceflight.

“To see and feel the confidence Ms. Leonard and Ms. Do have in me and my classmates to successfully make something that will one day orbit the earth supporting our astronauts is an experience I will never forget,” said Howard.

Engle announced the Clear Creek Education Foundation Community Partner of the Year through a video featuring the Foundation’s vital role in the launch and growth of The Leader In Me® Program in Clear Creek ISD.

“The impact of the Foundation’s innovative mindset and fundraising strategies―to the tune of five million dollars to date―can be experienced on every campus and hundreds of classrooms every day,” said Engle. “The Foundation and their network of donors leads the way in providing the investment and resources that distinguish our district and more importantly, benefit the growing minds of our students in a tangible way.”

The Clear Creek Education Foundation is led by Executive Director Deborah Laine and 2022-2023 Chairman Greg Ploss.

The following individuals represent the 2023 Campus Volunteers of the Year and were recognized at the breakfast:

Elementary Volunteers of the Year

Intermediate Volunteers of the Year

High School Volunteers of the Year

Armand Bayou / Sherry Miller

Bayside / Anamaria Delperdang

Clear Brook / Jessica & Matthew Carrion

Bauerschlag / Amanda Hill

Brookside / Chris and Denise Perry & Mindy Rives

Clear Creek / Stacey Dillehay

Bay / Marie Henry 

Clear Creek / Keisha Chadwell

Clear Falls / Katherine Schuler

Brookwood / Kenia Bryce

Clear Lake / Paula Hutchins

Clear Horizons / Ursula Burden

Campbell / Colleen Leach

Creekside / Sarah Prince

Clear Lake / Brenda Sanzone

Clear Lake City / Eowyn Johnson

League City / Vicky Fransham

Clear Path / Raymond Steward

Falcon Pass / Zachary Whirley

Seabrook / Alice McCalla

Clear Springs / Jennifer Leonard & Phong Do

Ferguson / Karen Canales

Space Center / Trenton Smith

Clear View / Jan Bailey

Gilmore / Jordan Dunn-Ralph

Victory Lakes / Dusti Suhre & Ashlee DuPont


Goforth / Phaythoune Philachack

Westbrook / Jayme Sanchez


Greene / Linda Cruz de Martinez



Hall / Amanda Garey



Hyde / Kristal Sheaves Powell



Landolt / Kristen Naquin



League City / Max Garcia



McWhirter /Alicia Baturoni Cortez



Mossman / Ashley Cyran



North Pointe / Zaynab Hassan



Parr / Douglas Alvarez



Robinson / Jessica Frankfort



Ross / Rebecca Walker



Stewart / Robert Kerber



Ward / David Conly



Weber / Juan Abrego



Wedgewood / Judy Hodges



Whitcomb / Richard Morales



White / Marie Simmons



CCISD gratefully acknowledged community sponsors, Balfour, T-Shirt Trends and Photo Texas Photography who help make the annual event a success through their donations.

  • Clear Creek Education Foundation
  • Community
  • Partnership
  • Volunteer