Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip To Main Content

CCISD Community Celebrates 2024 Partners and Volunteers of the Year

CCISD Community Celebrates 2024 Partners and Volunteers of the Year

The Clear Creek ISD community came together on May 3, 2024, in a celebration of a “Doggone Great Year” in a spirited nod to 2024 Community Partners of the Year, the Faithful Friends organization and CCISD campus Watch D.O.G.S., or Dads Of Great Students.

Click here for the event photo gallery.

Clear Creek ISD also recognized 44 volunteers of the year, representing every CCISD school, at the District’s annual Volunteer and Partnership Breakfast at the Clear Creek ISD Challenger Columbia Stadium Fieldhouse Community Room. In surprise announcements during the event, the District also named Leslie Holcomb of Hyde Elementary the Elementary Volunteer of the Year and Hilton Koch of Clear Falls High School the Secondary Volunteer of the Year for their contributions and commitment to their school communities.

“You may have heard it said, if you want to go fast, you run alone, but if you want to go far, you walk together,” said CCISD Superintendent of Schools Dr. Karen Engle in her community impact remarks. “This proverb has been the drumbeat of the Clear Creek ISD community. Because of this belief, and for all that you do for a CCISD student, staff member or school, we honor and thank you this morning.”

Besides the obvious canine connection, the Co-Community Partners of the Year have a lot in common when it comes to the safety and well-being of students.

Faithful Friends is an animal-assisted therapy ministry whose volunteers, both two-legged and four-legged, aim to support children by way of their caring hearts and listening ears. Faithful Friends visit with students in the comfort of their CCISD elementary school libraries, listening to them read aloud, building literacy and confidence.

A nationally-recognized program, Watch D.O.G.S. helps improve school safety and increase parental involvement. Every elementary school and several intermediate schools in CCISD are home to Watch D.O.G.S. volunteers; dads, grandfathers and uncles who serve as an extra set of eyes and ears around campus and model service and other core values for students.

Click to watch Faithful Friends and Watch D.O.G.S. in action on CCISD campuses.

The more than 200 VIPs, or Very Important Partners, in attendance were treated to special performances by top student talent in CCISD. Danielle Sanchez of Westbrook Intermediate, Clear Creek High School String Quartet musicians Bryan Stevens, Suri Xu, William Nolan and Eve Hewett, and Iyla Pettiett of League City Elementary brought the crowd to their feet with their memorable performances.

Wrapping up the breakfast celebration, Cathy Gault, President of the Clear Creek Community Council of PTAs, thanked all those who are members of the PTA and their advocacy efforts on behalf of the school district and its more than 40,000 students. For the second year in a row, Mossman Elementary won the traveling trophy for Volunteer Champion Campus awarded each year to the school boasting the highest PTA membership per student enrollment.

CCISD is grateful for and congratulates the following 2024 CCISD Campus Volunteers of the Year:

Elementary Volunteers of the Year

Lauren Pearson, Armand Bayou

Rani Tate, Bauerschlag

Kumiko Kadohama, Bay

Amy Xenefos, Brookwood

Karen Tulloch, Campbell

Michelle Ashley, Clear Lake City

Alicia Morgan, Ed White

Louisa Weise Barausky, Falcon Pass

Tony Simmons, Ferguson

Vickie Miller, Gilmore

Gwen Torstrick, Goforth

Vanessa Trevino, Greene

Courtney Boudreaux, Hall

Leslie Holcomb, Hyde

Julia Mergerle, Landolt

Sergio Medina, League City

Melissa Porter, McWhirter

Shannon Sobkowiak, Mossman

Heather Strawser, North Pointe

Melissa Thomas, Parr

Melissa Bittick, Robinson

Rebecca Walker, Ross Elementary

Ashley Gilfoil, Ross

Liane Soukup Chlebowski, Stewart

Leslie Butts, Ward

Karina Quijada, Weber

Rhonda Rogers, Wedgewood

Bernadette Chessman, Whitcomb

Intermediate Volunteers of the Year

Anna Hubbard, Bayside

Debi Matthews, Brookside

Citymark Church, Clear Creek

Michelle Ashley, Clear Lake

Julie Hyde, Creekside

Dr. Mark Matney, League City

Seabrook PTA Executive Board, Seabrook

Amy Xenofos, Space Center

Kimberly Spreeman, Victory Lakes

Candice McCormack, Westbrook

High School Volunteers of the Year

Michelle Stuart & Kari Ayala, Clear Brook

Michael & Sherri Creedon, Clear Creek

Hilton Koch, Clear Falls

Selena Bradley, Clear Horizons

Jana Paul, Clear Lake

Nate Shandera, Clear Springs

Eric Foster, Clear View


Supporting sponsors Balfour, Photo Texas Photography and T-Shirt Trends make the annual breakfast celebration possible.

  • Community
  • District
  • Volunteers