Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip To Main Content

CCISD Athletic Hall of Honor Welcomes in the Class of 2020 Inductees

Alumni from Clear Creek High School and Clear Lake High School, along with their families, friends and CCISD leadership, gathered on October 23, 2021, to be a part of the Clear Creek ISD Athletic Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony and Reception. Guests looked on as three legendary coaches, 10 elite athletes and three state championship teams were officially inducted into the Athletic Hall of Honor, collectively as the Class of 2020.

Click here to view photos from the Athletic Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony and Reception.

Although the class was selected in 2020, plans for the ceremony originally slated for fall of 2020 had to be deferred due to the pandemic.

“We have waited more than a year to celebrate this talented and special group of individuals,” said Athletic Hall of Honor Board President Dede Macpherson in her opening remarks. “It is now time to give our alumni athletes the recognition they have earned.”

More than 250 guests were first treated to nostalgic performances of the Clear Creek and Clear Lake school songs sung by student choirs of their respective alma maters. Past President Dr. C. Lynn Davis served as Master of Ceremonies and members of the Athletic Hall of Honor Committee alternated introducing the inductees and inviting each to the podium to share a few special memories and receive their award.

“To be given the opportunity to share in this experience was truly an honor in every way” said Peggy Whitley, Class of 2020 Athletic Hall of Honor inductee and iconic Clear Creek High School basketball coach beginning in 1968. “It was a great time, sharing memorable moments of athletics in CCISD and a time to reconnect with old teammates and coaches. I, and many others, will carry the memories of this event for many years to come.”

The special event is made possible by generous supporters including Founding sponsors, Lewis Jewelers and the Luis Garcia family and many Platinum, Gold and Silver sponsors who contribute to the success of the ceremony.

Follows is a complete list of all those who were honored and inducted as the Class of 2020:

Athletic Hall of Honor Inductees, Class of 2020


Angie Chivers
Clear Lake HS 1974-1994

Peggy Whitley
Clear Creek HS 1968-1972, 1983-2004

James “Jim” Mallory
Clear Creek HS 1978-2011

Student Athletes:

John Peskuric
Clear Creek HS – 1970

Darryl Menard
Clear Lake HS – 1981

Mark Rudis
Clear Creek HS – 1988
Baseball, Football

Holly Renee Magee
Clear Lake HS – 1977

Sue Schelfhout Berg
Clear Lake HS – 1985
Volleyball, Basketball, Golf

David Buckner
Clear Lake HS – 1989

Tracie Blumentritt
Clear Creek HS – 1979

Jose Oscar Rivas
Clear Lake HS – 1986

Cindy Gregory
Clear Lake HS – 1979
Volleyball, Basketball, Track, Cross Country

Lyssa McBride Seale
Clear Creek HS – 1986

Team Honorees:

Clear Lake Girls Cross Country UIL 5A Championship Teams
Head Coach: Anid de la Garza

Missy Domenick – 1985
Kim Olver – 1986
Lisa Pyer – 1987
Sandy Dohanich – 1984
Andra Tamburro* – 1985
Tessa Ibarra Fuqua – 1984
Denise Daley La Grange – 1985
Barbie Betters Meyer – 1985
Kim Lewis – 1987
Missy Price – 1986

Missy Domenick – 1985
Kim Olver – 1986
Lisa Pyer – 1987
Andra Tamburro* – 1985
Barbie Betters – 1985
Susie Ibarra – 1988
Debbie Randall – 1987
Melissa Erwin Sazama – 1987
Denise Daley La Grange – 1985
Kim Lewis – 1987

Kim Olver – 1986
Lisa Pyer – 1987
Susie Ibarra – 1988
Kelly T. Cuddeback – 1989
Noadiah Eckman – 1988
Kim Cook – 1987
Lauren Simmons – 1987
Kelly Gilbert – 1987
Ousa Haynes O’Mara – 1988
Amy Berry – 1988

1989 Clear Lake High School Boys Basketball Team, UIL 5A State Champions
Head Coach: Bill Krueger

Lynn McDonald – Asst. Coach
Charlie Spurlin – Asst. Coach
Mark Barker – Asst. Coach  
Paul Quillen – Asst. Coach
Jim “Pud” Williams* – Statistician
David Silva – Trainer
Eric Valentino – 1991
Robert Henson – 1989
Michael Moten – 1989
Dr. Brian Williams – 1990
Bradley Bruce – 1989
Tim Glover – 1990
Scott Boykin – 1989
David Buckner – 1989
Mike Fultz – 1990
Paul Cooper – 1990
Eric Henderson – 1989
Mike Simmons – 1990
John Easterly – 1990
Derrick Lormand – 1991
Steve Rasmussen – 1990
David Woods – 1989
Dr. Justin Kerr – 1989
Tomas Moreno – 1990
Andy Zimmerman – 1990
Jesse Kerr – 1991
Anthony Kaye – 1991
Todd Shotwell – 1990

1991 Clear Creek High School Boys Baseball Team, UIL 5A State Champions
Head Coach: James “Jim” Mallory

Eric Leger – Asst. Coach
Darrell Warden – Asst. Coach
Robert “Bobby” Dingenary – Asst. Coach
Carey Faires – Trainer
Jim W. Molina – 1992
Pat Ryder – 1991
Kevin Roher – 1993
Chad Sundbeck – 1991
Brian Rudis – 1991
Ruben Gonzales – 1992
Shawn Buhner – 1991
Rob Rexer – 1991
Thomas Kirsch Uptegrove – 1991
Reuben Samaha – 1991
Brendan Daly – 1991
Angelo Antoline – 1993
Art Jeffords* – 1992
Chris Hosek – 1991
Ryan Keathley – 1992
Doug Cash – 1991
Todd Phillips – 1992
Eric Silvas – 1991
Jeffrey Suffron – 1992
Scott Adams – 1991
Student Trainer: Jill J. Chicoine Smith – 1992

Placards bearing the names of all inductees from 2016 to present are affixed to the home side concourse of CCISD Challenger Columbia Stadium as well as the stadium fieldhouse.

The 2020 class was chosen through an extensive nomination and selection process for bringing distinction, honor and excellence to themselves, their alma maters and community. A 501(c)3, the CCISD Athletic Hall of Honor was established in 2016 and each year encompasses athletes of a specific era, folding in CCISD high schools as they were formed. For the 2020 nomination and award window, the nominee had to be a coach or graduate of Webster High School, Clear Creek High School, Clear Lake High School or Clear Brook High School between the years of 1948 and 1987.

  • Athletics
  • Community
  • District