CCISD Celebrates Teacher of the Year Finalists

CCISD Celebrates Teacher of the Year Finalists
Posted on 05/15/2020
Amanda Hawkins with Superintendent Greg SmithClear Creek ISD leaders and the Rotary Clubs of Space Center, League City and Seabrook surprised Teacher of the Year finalists with a car parade alongside family and friends on Tuesday and Wednesday.


Due to COVID-19, the annual luncheon to announce and honor the winners was canceled.

Jerri Klister of Ross Elementary was named the CCISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and Amanda Hawkins of Clear Lake High School was named the CCISD Secondary Teacher of the Year.

All six finalists were lured to their respective campuses by the principal and were led out to the front of the school to be greeted by their family, colleagues and a fire department and police escort.

“It makes me so proud to work where I went to school,” said Amanda Hawkins. “This school changed my life and now I get to change lives of kids every day.”

Each finalist and winner received a generous monetary prize, plaque and flowers from the rotary clubs.

“It’s truly an honor to have been selected, even just being nominated at my school at Bayside. We have just the most amazing group of teachers here,” explained Christal Rogers, a finalist. “It meant even more to know that my peers thought that I was worthy of such an honor.”

Teacher of the Year Winners
Jerri Klister – Ross Elementary
Amanda Hawkins – Clear Lake High School

Teacher of the Year Finalists
Katherine Doyle – Clear Falls High School
Christal Rogers – Bayside Intermediate
Cynthia Cooley – Campbell Elementary
Kristin Scribner – Armand Bayou Elementary

©2018 CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT | Powered by: SchoolMessenger | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Login