CCISD Board of Trustees Names Chris Reed 2019 Citizen of the Year

CCISD Board of Trustees Names Chris Reed 2019 Citizen of the Year
Posted on 09/24/2019
Chris Reed Citizen of the YearThe Clear Creek ISD Board of Trustees recently announced the 2019 Citizen of the Year, Chris Reed. A CCISD Board Member, Reed passed away on June 7, 2019, and left an undeniable legacy of leadership and service with his school district, local cities and the organizations for which he championed.

“Those who were lucky enough to know Chris understood he was a man of principle and deep commitment to his community,” said Board President, Dr. Laura DuPont. “Clear Creek ISD was fortunate to benefit from that devotion along with his innovative ideas and enthusiasm for anything that was good for children,” she said.
Chris Reed

That dedication to children came into play through his many leadership roles on boards and committees where youth would stand to benefit. Communities In Schools, the Bay Area Alliance for Youth and Families, and the Clear Creek Education Foundation are only a few examples of his commitment in action. Reed turned his love for mixed martial arts into yet another beacon for youth through his founding of the Houston Area Wrestling Foundation. The organization provides opportunities to lower socio-economic wrestlers, helping them improve self-confidence, discipline and good sportsmanship.

A resident of the Clear Lake area for 28 years, Reed also held leadership positions in both law enforcement and city management in League City, Nassau Bay and Kemah. Early in his career he was a certified military policeman and paratrooper.

Reed’s family will accept the honor on his behalf at the Clear Creek Education Foundation Annual Awards Presentation and Gala on November 2, 2019, at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center. The following honorees will also be recognized by the Foundation that same evening:

George B. Carlisle Distinguished Service Award
Ann Hammond

Distinguished Alumni
Jackie Mitchell, Clear Creek High School, ‘83
Dr. Daniel Okorodudu, Clear Creek High School, ‘00
Dr. Dale Okorodudu, Clear Creek High School, ‘02
Melissa Wiginton, Clear Lake High School, ‘76

Darren Ellisor, Clear Lake High School, ‘92

CCISD Superstars
Ron W. Masters
Lyzette Ruiz, CCISD Elementary Teacher of the Year
Alaina Garza, CCISD Secondary Teacher of the Year

Dennis Johnson Memorial Small Business Award
Tim and Debbie Kropp, MRI Technologies
©2018 CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT | Powered by: SchoolMessenger | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Login