District Leadership

Dr. Smith

Dr. Greg Smith, Superintendent of Schools 

Dr. Greg Smith became the Clear Creek Independent School District superintendent of schools in January 2008. He was named the Superintendent of the Year by the Texas Association of School Boards in 2012, named the top administrator by the Texas Classroom Teachers Association, Superintendent of the Year for the Texas PTA, and named the Galveston County Daily News Community Champion in 2013.

Dr. Smith has led the Clear Creek Independent School District and its 5,000 employees on a journey to transform education in the 21st Century. Under his superintendence, student performance has increased in all state indicators as well on college entrance exams. Today, the Clear Creek Independent School District is considered one of the largest high performing school districts in Texas.  Dr. Smith is Co-Chair of the Texas High Performance Schools Consortium, State Board Member of Texas PTA, a member of the Space Center Rotary Club and the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership (BAHEP).

In 2014, Clear Creek ISD was a finalist for the HEB Excellence in Education Award and TASA Honor Board Award.  In 2013, Clear Creek ISD voters overwhelmingly approved a $367 million school construction bond that led to the 1:1 tablet initiative known as Latitude 2 Learn.

Dr. Smith earned his bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Oakland University, master’s degree in Education Administration from University of Houston Clear Lake, and his doctorate in Education Administration from Texas A&M University.

Dr. Smith and his wife, Kathy, are the parents of two daughters and one granddaughter. 

Contact the Superintendent 

Phone: 281-284-0002
Email: grsmith@ccisd.net 

 

Superintendent's Cabinet 

Dr. Steven Ebell 
Deputy Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction
sebell@ccisd.net
281-284-0123 




paul mclartyPaul McLarty
Deputy Superintendent of Business and Support Services
pmclarty@ccisd.net 
281-284-0181 




hughesHolly Hughes
Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Education
hhughes@ccisd.net 
281-284-3536 




Scott BockhartScott Bockart
Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Education
sbockart@ccisd.net 
281-284-7263 




District CounselLeila Sarmecanic
General Counsel
LSarmecanic@ccisd.net
281-284-0013 




Dr Casey OpryDr. Casey O'Pry
Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources
copry@ccisd.net 
281-284-0236 




Robert BayardDr. Robert Bayard
Chief Technology Officer
rbayard@ccisd.net
281-284-0401 




Elaina Polsen
Executive Director of Communications
epolsen@ccisd.net 
281-284-0020

 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.